Current Weather 2.1 Miles NNW Downtown Carlsbad, NM.

Friday, March 9, 2012

Snow In March...Better Than Blowing Dust!


A strong cold front plowed through the area early Thursday morning.

Lots of dust was trapped near the surface, underneath the overcast of low clouds, across the Pecos Valley of southeastern New Mexico.

The result was a cold, windy, and very gloomy day across the area. Nasty day with nasty skies.


"Active sunspot AR1429 continues to grow. It is now more than seven times wider than Earth, which makes it an easy target for backyard solar telescopes. In fact, yesterday, David Tremblay of Alto, New Mexico, saw it using no telescope at all. All he needed was a dust storm:

The dust blowing from Tularosa Basin was so dense, we could observe the sun with the naked eye--and there was sunspot AR1429. Wow!" says Tremblay.

Too see more of David's photo's of this event click on this link.


Issued At 17:40 UTC/10:40 AM MST This Morning.

"The coronal mass ejection (CME) associated with the R3 (Strong) Radio Blackout event from 0024 UTC March 7 (7:24 p.m. EST March 6) continues to affect the Earth, with the storm peaking at G3 (Strong) levels overnight and into the morning. This storm is now showing signs of subsiding, but lower levels of activity will still continue throughout the day.

Solar Radiation Storm levels remain at S2 (Moderate) levels, flattening out in response to a R2 (Moderate) Radio Blackout occurring at 0353 UTC March 9 (10:53 p.m. EST March 8). The R2 event had an associated coronal mass ejection that is expected to cause more geomagnetic storming beginning early on March 11, with intensities likely to again reach the G3 (Strong) level. Region 1429 remains potent and subsequent activity is certainly possible."

Issued At 12:36 UTC/5:36 AM MST This Morning.

"The coronal mass ejection (CME) associated with the R3 (Strong) Radio Blackout event from 0024 UTC March 7 (7:24 p.m. EST March 6) continues to affect the Earth and G3 (Strong) storming levels have now been observed. The magnetic field orientation needed to cause strong geomagnetic storming finally occurred overnight, so although it got off to a slow start, levels have reached what was predicted.

Solar Radiation Storm levels remain at S2 (Moderate) levels, flattening out in response to a new, R2 (Moderate) solar flare occurring at 0353 UTC March 9 (10:53 p.m. EST March 8). This R2 event had an associated coronal mass ejection and analysis is pending to determine the expected arrival time and resulting geomagnetic storm intensity."





Contrast yesterday's dust filled skies with today's snow filled skies...gotta love our March weather. I remember this happening as a kid growing up in Artesia in the 60's & 70's, and Id bet some of you do too.

For the latest radar updates across SE NM please visit the "My SE NM Radar" link at the top of my web page, and be sure to click on the "Winterize Button" to show the areas of snow, and sleet, mixed in with the light rain falling across the area.

The Truth Is Stranger Than Fiction!

My Web Page Is Best Viewed With Google Chrome.
Post a Comment